Game – Complete Your Statement

About | This simple activity induces creativity and humour in the process of helping team members to get to know each other better.

Goal | Encourage team members to share their personal thoughts, experiences or ideas freely.

Emphasis | Icebreaker, Trust

Items | Paper slips containing printed hanging-statements to be completed. See suggestions below.

Size | Any

Setting | Meeting Room

Time | About 15 minutes, depending on number of participants

Instructions |

  1. Prepare enough paper strips with unique printed hanging-statements for each participants and fold them so that the content is not revealed.
  2. Explain to participants that everyone will get to pick a strip, read out the  printed hanging statement and complete is as creatively as he can spontaneously. If there are too many participants but not enough time, select volunteers instead.
  3. Encourage participants to be as truthful possible to a degree that they are comfortable in sharing and revealing to the rest of the team members.
  4. Ask participants to limit their sharing to one sentence only, which is to complete the selected hanging statement.

Suggestion on hanging-statements (for Work context):

  1. I most enjoy about work when…
  2. I least enjoy about my work when…
  3. I hate it when my boss…
  4. I like it when my boss…
  5. Working in my current team…
  6. Customers would be happier…
  7. We could improve…
  8. My under-used potential…
  9. To be more effective, I…
  10. People leave because…
  11. I like it when…
  12. One complaint about my work is…

Debrief |

Not necessary but you can highlight that it is important for team members to know and understand each others’ feelings and motivation at work in order to strengthen the bonding and cooperation amongst them.

If there are any part of this instructions you want to clarify, leave me a comment.

Leave a Reply

